University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine Diversity Advisory Council

The School of Medicine Diversity Advisory Council is a voluntary organization that includes students, faculty, and staff administrators that provide recommendations to the School of Medicine to enhance a fully inclusive Medical School.

 

Vikas Agarwal, MD
Department of Radiology
Associate Professor
agarwalv@upmc.edu

 

 

 

 

Unoma Akamagwuna, MD
Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Assistant Professor
Unoma.akamagwuna@chp.edu

 

 

 

 

Christopher C. Allen, MD
Department of Medicine
Division of Cardiplogy
Clinical Associate 
allencc@upmc.edu

 

 

 

 Heather Bernard, MD
 Department of Pediatrics
 Residency Program
 heather.bernard@chp.edu

 

 

 

 

Mehret Birru-Talabi, MD, PhD
Department of Medicine
Division of Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology
Assistant Professor 
birrums@upmc.edu

 

 

 

Eliana Bonifacino, MD
Department of Medicine
Division of General Internal Medicine
Assistant Professor 
bonifacinoe@upmc.edu

 

 

 

Charlotte Brown, PhD
Department of Psychiatry
Associate Professor 
brownc@upmc.edu

 

 

 

 

Thuy Bui, MD
Department of Medicine
Division of General Internal Medicine
Associate Professor
buit@upmc.edu

 

 

 

Diego G. Chaves-Gnecco, MD
Department of Pediatrics
Assistant Professor
Diego.Chaves-Gnecco@chp.edu

 

 

 

 

Tracey Conti, MD
Department of Family Medicine
Assistant Professor
contitd@upmc.edu

 

 

 

 

Esa Davis, MD
Department of Medicine
Division of General Internal Medicine
Associate Professor
davisem@upmc.edu

 

 

 

Paula Davis
Office of the Senior Vice Chancellor
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences Diversity
pkd100@pitt.edu

 

 

 

 

Laura M. De Castero, MD
Department of Medicine
Division of Hematology/Oncology
Associate Professor
decastrolm@upmc.edu

 

 

 

Maria Escolar, MD
Department of Pediatrics
Associate Professor
maria.escolar@chp.edu 

 

 

 

 

Steven Evans, MD
Department of Surgery
Clinical Associate Professor
evanss2@upmc.edu

 

 

 

 

Alda Gonzaga, MD
Department of Medicine
Division of General Internal Medicine
Associate Professor
gonzagaa@upmc.edu

 

 

 

Antonio Gumucio
Biomedical Master's Program
Pre-Med Student
Safar Center for Resuscitation Lab Assistant
JAG296@pitt.edu

 

 

 

                                                          

MaCalus Hogan, MD
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Assistant Professor
hoganmv@upmc.edu

 

 

 

 

Sandi Honick
School of Medicine
Executive Administrator, Office of Faculty Affairs
honick2@pitt.edu

 

 

 

 

Alaina James, MD, PhD
Department of Dermatology
Assistant Professor
jamesaj@upmc.edu

 

 

 

 

Naudia N. Jonassaint, MD
Department of Medicine
Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition
Assistant Professor
jonassaintnl@upmc.edu


 

 

 

Betty Liu, MD
Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Associate Professor
luiby@upmc.edu

 

 

 

 

Joseph E. Losee
Department of Plastic Surgery
Professor
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, School of Medicine
Joseph.Losee@chp.edu

 

 

 

John Maier, PhD, MD
Department of Family Medicine
Assistant Professor
maierjs@upmc.edu

 

 

 

 

Ure Mezu-Chukwu, MD
Department of Medicine
Division of Cardiology
Attending Physician in Cardiology & Electrophysiology
mezuchukwuul@upmc.edu

 

 

 

Elizabeth Miller, MD, PhD
Department of Pediatrics
Professor
elm114@pitt.edu

 

 

 

 

Sandra Murray, PhD
Department of Cell Biology
Professor
smurray@pitt.edu

 

 

 

 

Melonie Nance, MD
Department of Otolaryngology
Clinical Assistant Professor
nancema@upmc.edu

 

 

 

 

Solomon Ofori-Acquah, PhD
Department of Medicine
Division of Hematology/Oncology
Associate Professor
sfo2@pitt.edu

 

 

 

David O. Okonkwo, MD, PhD
Neurological Surgery
Professor
okonkwodo@upmc.edu

 

 

 


Olugbenga (Gbenga) Okusanya, MD
Cardiothoracic Surgery
okusanyaot@upmc.edu

 

 

 

 

Chenits Pettigrew, EdD
School of Medicine
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs & Director of Diversity Programs
cpettigrew@medschool.pitt.edu

 

 

 

 

Belinda Rivera-Lebron, MD
Department of Medicine
Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine
Assistant Professor
riveralebronbn@upmc.edu

 

 

 

Mauricio Rojas, MD
Department of Medicine
Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine
Associate Professor
rojasm@upmc.edu

 

 

 

Loren Roth, MD
Office of the Senior Vice Chancellor
Associate Vice Chancellor for Clinical Policy and Planning, Health Sciences
Distinguished Service Professor
lhr1@pitt.edu

 

 

 

Doris Rubio, PhD
Office of the Provost
Associate Vice Provost for Faculty
Dmr18@pitt.edu

 

 

 

 

William Simmons, MD
Department of Anesthesiology
Associate Professor
simmwx@anes.upmc.edu

 

 

 

 

Sandra I. Sobel, MD
Department of Medicine
Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism
Clinical Assistant Professor
sobelsi@upmc.edu

 

 

 

Jeannette South-Paul, MD
Department of Family Medicine
Department Chair
Professor
southpaulj@upmc.edu

 

 

 

Ann Thompson, MD
Department of Critical Care Medicine
Vice Dean of School of Medicine
Professor
Thompsonae@medschool.pitt.edu

 

 

 

Humberto E. Trejo Bittar, MD
Department of Pathology
Assistant Professor
 trejobittarhe@upmc.edu

 

 

 

 

Rickquel P Tripp, MD
Department of Emergency Medicine
Clinical Assistant Professor
tripprp@upmc.edu

 

 

 

 

Eloho Ufomata, MD
Department of Medicine
Division of General Internal Medicine
Assistant Professor 
ufomataeo@upmc.edu

 

 


 

Karen Lorean Velazquez, MD
Department of Medicine
Division of General Internal Medicine
Clinical Instructor
velazquezkl@upmc.edu

 

 

 

Aisha L. Walker, PhD
Department of Medicine
Vascular Medicine Institute
Assistant Professor
alw162@pitt.edu

 

 

 

Ora Weisz, PhD
Office of the Senior Vice Chancellor
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Faculty Excellence, Health Sciences
Professor
weisz@pitt.edu

 

 

 

J. Deanna Wilson, MD
Department of Medicine
Division of General Internal Medicine
Assistant Professor
wilsonjd@pitt.edu